Faith is…..Again

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n5UR_Y3yOF8

Before I begin the attached YouTube song is called “Out of the Blue” by Don Francisco and is found on his Grace on Grace CD.  I own the CD but this is not my YouTube upload and I have not secured official permission to post the song.  If you like it please go and buy his music for a very rich blessing.  The song is saying that God comes into our lives and shatters life as we know it and brings in His life.

I like how God speaks.  He not only displays a mastery of language but also that of the fine art of communicating, that is getting across the point He wants to make.  Further, God has a very rich sense of humor.  You gotta love it!

Consider Numbers, chapter 22.  Again, I leave you to read the story and to read the full context, not just pick and choose.  At the start of the chapter the king, Balak, was trying to get Balaam to come to him to help keep from being wiped out by the Israelites.  This had been going on for a while when God finally released Balaam to go, but to only speak the word God told Balaam to speak.  So the next morning Balaam gets on his brand new, circa 580 (or so) B.C. donkey which came complete with leather upholstery and takes off.  Now, God was not happy with Balaam’s attitude and put an angel with a big sword in the middle of the road to deal with things.  Note that the angel had a big sword.  Balaam never noticed but his donkey did and they went round and round a few times about going on until the donkey had had it and just lay down refusing to go any more.  So Balaam smites (don’t you love King james English, smite) the donkey and God really lets loose with the art of communicating.  He gives the donkey a voice.

“Hey dude, what for are you beating me?  The donkey continues to discuss this matter with Balaam with it being a two way conversation.  Personally, I think I would have stopped with the first words out of the donkey’s mouth in bewilderment.  Balaam, nah, he just kept on arguing with a donkey.  There is a sign in a BBQ place I eat at that reads never get in an argument with a fool, bystanders might not be able to tell the difference.

My point is not the story of Balaam but rather how God communicates with us.  The point is that God does communicate with us.  God knows us, knows our needs, wants, thoughts, rights and wrongs.  To the very depth of our core being He, God Himself knows you and me.  You aren’t going to hide anything from Him, you aren’t getting away with anything, so don’t even let the thought linger in your feeble little brain.

Bare your heart and soul to your God, the God of heaven and earth.  Let it all hang out and while God is the master of communication we are but rank amateurs at best.  Cry to the Lord and even further seek for others to cry to the Lord on your behalf.  God does not need elequance to listen and hear us.

So what am I saying (or trying to say) and what is the point of this post?  First my motivation in writing this evening.  Over this past weekend I got hit with the proverbial sledge hammer.  Now mind you this is not a bad thing as being hit with a sledge hammer is often times.  Rather it was facing some facts concerning a situation and the reality found therein.  I hurt and felt deep pain but I must confess that I knew that I was going to be hurt regarding this situation.  Knowing it is coming is supposed to help one handle things but nah, never happens, it still hurts even though none of the parties involved wanted anyone to get hurt.

So, being me I took this pain to heart and curled up like the baby I am and woe is me, nowhere left to go but wallow in self-pity.  Have you ever done that?  Probably.  This went on for a full day and a half (actually a little more) until God communicated with me.  Now we bring in the long preface to this post.  For a donkey God chose to use someone’s blog, as in my own.  I received a note from WordPress that a post of mine from June was liked and commented on.  Cool, let’s go see who it was and what they commented.  So I went and of course I had to reread the post to see what I had said.  Can you saw Hee Haw here?  It’s donkey speaking time!

The post is titled “Faith Is.”  Hebrews, chapter 11, verse 1: “Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen.”  I posted and talked about faith but deeper than that I talked about Jesus Christ.  That is what I have to post about and talk about.  He is my all in all, Jesus is my life and my confession.

Here I am wallowing in my self-pity, woe is me.  It took God to use my own words to remind me that I am a person of faith and my faith is that there is substance greater than anything, repeat anything, that may try and rob me of the life I have in Christ Jesus.  My faith is evidence that He is greater, that God Himself is working in my life for His good pleasure to accomplish greater things in life that I could ever dream of.

People who read these words, do you hear what I am saying about you?  You are loved by God, the most high God of the Universe.  More importantly He is as wrapped up with loving you as much as William and Kate of England are with the new royal baby.  You, you are loved and cared for beyond your wildest imagination.  Sledge hammers may come but your father in heaven is there for you.  My you be blessed with His presence in your life.

2 thoughts on “Faith is…..Again

  1. lessonsbyheart

    It would help if the “pity pot” wasn’t so comfy, wouldn’t it? I lived on mine for decades. Sometimes it’s still my default position when things get tough. A pity pot, though, is like a potty chair…and can really stink! Hmmm. Good point. I feel a post coming on.

    Thanks!

    \o/
    Praising Jesus who teaches us to “flush” and then get on with life!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

