The Really Big Picture

It has been a while since I posted to the blog so for that I apologize.  Just been busy and haven’t had any thinking worth following and developing ideas from.  So it is time to change gears and write.  Here goes and it promises starting out to be a many varied tangle of a path to reach the conclusion. 

I have been reading “The Knowledge of the Holy” by A. W. Tozer.  Tozer is an author that for me I have to read a small part of it and then go back a couple of pages to reread how it fits.  Very deep and profound thinking.  I have reached chapter five which is titled “The Self-Existence of God.”  Tozer says, and I quote, “Few of us have let our hearts gaze in wonder at the I AM, the self-existent Self back of which no creature can think.”  The first part of this statement is saying simply that we have failed to simply gaze in wonder.  Gaze in wonder is a concept we can grasp and understand.  Have you stood on a beach and gazed in wonder at the ocean?  Or have you gazed in wonder at the stars in the heavens, or the sunset as the sky changes color from blue to orange to fiery red?  For parents who have gazed at their newborn child I know they have gazed in wonder.  Tozer is saying we have failed to gaze in wonder at the greatest thing that we can gaze at, God Himself; God the great I AM.  More about that in a minute. 

I read an article from TIME magazine (online edition) about a galaxy that has been discovered, named Segue 2.  Now, galaxies are considered to contain anywhere from as few as 10 million stars to trillions of stars, all orbiting around a central point.  Further there are said to be probably more than 170 billion galaxies in the observable universe.  I won’t even try and impress anyone with crunching the numbers of possible stars all these figures adds up to, but I want to mention Segue 2 because it is unique amongst galaxies.  It is considered the smallest known galaxy with about 600 stars in it, a mere fraction of what is considered normal for a galaxy.  Yet it has its own name and it rates an article in TIME magazine.  It is unique and special.  Keep that point in the forefront of your mind as you read on in this post.

 

“Few of us have let our hearts gaze in wonder at the I AM,…”  the I AM who is God the Creator of Segue 2 as well as the Creator of you and me.  God said I am going to make a special galaxy that one day man will name Segue 2.  It will be special for a different reason, a reason I bestowed on it from the beginning.  Let me make a galaxy unlike all the other known ones to man.  Instead of millions, or billions, or even trillions of stars I will give it less than 1000.  And God said it was good, and because God said it was good, it was good.  

When I gaze in the night sky, and am in a dark sky locale, I can see the Andromeda galaxy with my naked eye.  Granted it looks like a cotton ball but I know what I am looking at and I can gaze at it in awe.  There are many other night sky treats to be seen and to gaze at in awe and I love doing so.  But have I taken the time and effort to gaze at I AM?  That is Tozer’s point that he puts before us.  I have to wonder and if I am honest I would say I have failed to do so.  Looking at the night sky has enriched my life, so how much more would I be enriched by gazing at the I AM?  What about you?  Has looking at the ocean, the mountains, the forests, the sky, enriched you?  I would say probably so where have we failed? 

I think that if we have let Jesus Christ into our lives we have pondered God and all that He is.  But I think Tozer is trying to lead us to a whole new level of knowing God, of knowing the Great I AM.  One of our problems is we think and we think like men and we think in terms we can understand.  This is natural for us because we are men (and women) and this is how we think.  We picture and imagine in terms we can understand. 

The New Testament speaks of the throne of God.  We picture and imagine God sitting on this big throne, a really nice chair, administering judgments and so forth.  But when I think of the heavens, all the way from Segue 2 to the Andromeda galaxy, to Orion and out beyond what we can even glimpse with our most powerful telescopes, I see God.  God, not just the creator, but the sustainer and the enjoyer of all that He created.  I see God taking time to look at this teeny tiny galaxy named Segue 2 and saying WOW! This is a really neat thing I made. 

Before it looks like I am totally into astronomy God looks at me like He looks at Segue 2.  In terms of being a galaxy Segue 2 is a nothing, can’t even think about competing with the heavy hitters.  Neither can I in terms of being a great human being.  I am not and know it.  But the fascinating thing is God looks at me, and you, and says WOW!  This is a really neat person I made.  Just as every star and every galaxy is special, unique and wonderful, so is every person.  So are you, and you and also you over there reading my post from some place I never heard of. 

Back to the original topic, gazing at I AM.  I need to, and you need to as well, sit still and think about the God who is before anything and everything, who we can’t go back past to find more.  We need to elevate Him to His level and not what we think His level is.  We need to let Him shatter any and all preconceived notions of God, not just examine Him “outside the box.”  So I am asking you to make an effort to try.  I would add more but since I don’t have a clue as to how to go about it I will end with that.  He is, He is God, He is more than the sum total.  Go and gaze. 

2 thoughts on “The Really Big Picture

  1. momovers

    Hello I loved your blog. I loved talking to you. Going to the apple store to charge my battery. Then to the bank to exchange some money. Then to the gym to work out. One thing about losing weight is that now I have all this extra skin hanging down. You just can’t win at our age can you. God is so awesome I heard Him in the trees last night with the wind blowing. This place has such strange weather. I look forward to just plain hot and much air conditioner. Why don’t you plan on coming with me to Lara’s and staying for awhile. Not sure how their house works with beds but there is a nice hotel close. We could spend the 4th together and Victoria’s birthday. She’s going to be 4 I think. Hope she remembers me.

    See you in 15 days.

    Love mo

    Reply
  2. lessonsbyheart

    The Knowledge of the Holy is one of my all-time favorite books. It took me 3 weeks to read 26 pages! I had several versions of the Bible, a dictionary, and a notepad at hand. It was my first real glimpse of the I AM. Loved it! Thanks for the memories. 🙂

    \o/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

