Flash of Inspiration

 

 

I love it when a flash of inspiration comes.  Furthermore, reading the Word is full of inspiration.  This morning I was reading Psalm 27 in an effort to have a morning devotion. Then I read it and it hit me smack dab in the middle of the forehead.  POW!  Get ready, here it comes.

Ps 27:4 One thing I have asked from the LORD, that I shall seek: That I may dwell in the house of the LORD all the days of my life, To behold the beauty of the LORD, And to meditate in His temple. NASB

What you say?  I know I will dwell all the days of my life in the house of the Lord when I get to heaven.  True, but David is saying so much more.  David was praying in the here and now, that it would be in the here and now.  That I may dwell in the house of the LORD all the days of my life.  Today is a day in our lives. David’s prayer, our prayer, the possible, the actual, is to dwell in the house of the Lord, now, today, present tense.

Do you see it now?  The house of the Lord is not just in the hereafter, it is in the here and now.  A search for “house of the Lord” turns up 237 Old Testament references in the NASB version.  We can know the presence of the Lord, we can fellowship with the Lord in the here and now.  There are friends I can call up right now and go to visit them in their house.  The house of Arthur, the house of Robert, the house of Clint, and on and on.  Hey Arthur, how are you doing, hey Robert, hey Clint.  Now, take it a step further, hey God, what’s happening?  How are you and the family?  Conversely, they always ask about me;  Bernie, how are you doing, how are you dealing with all the “stuff” going on in your life?  I know you are going through a lot, talk to me.

God is the same way.  Come in, have a seat, would you like something to drink?  How about some living water, I have plenty of that?  Here, it is cool and refreshing, good for your coming in from a long journey.  Here is some fresh baked bread, fresh out of the oven and its low calorie but very filling, tasty and healthy.  Come and dine, it’s good to see you and catch up.

Read the Word and let the author speak to you, where you are, who you are.  Let Him speak to your needs, to your heart.  He longs for you to call and ask to come visit Him.  After all He has fresh bread in the oven just for you.  Come, taste and see the goodness of the Lord.

I am going to spend today in the house of the Lord.  That means where I am, what I am doing, I will do it and I will be in the presence of the Lord.  Please join me wherever you are.  His house is big enough for all of us.

One thought on “Flash of Inspiration

  1. lessonsbyheart

    Thanks for sharing. It confirms what I recently heard (and later found in Scripture – go figure!):
    John 17:3 THIS is eternal life, that they know You, the one true God, and Jesus Christ whom You have sent.

    Eternal life isn’t a gift “from” God – the gift is a relationship with God Himself. Wow! It begins now – not after I die. That thrills me!

    \o/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

