Who’s hiding in your closet?

Hang on folks, today is looking like a very promising post. I say that because I do not yet know what it is going to be. I write by having things roll around in my head, I begin fleshing them out, and recheck references and cross references and see where things lead. I attended a Bible study for a long time that was taught by a PhD who was from west Texas and he was fully Texan. Brilliant man who knew the Word and who would often go off on tangents that he called “bunny paths” that we never knew where they would end up. So let’s get started on our trek for today.

This morning I had to leave the house before 7:00 am. That to me is very ungodly, that is a time to be in deep contact with the covers. But, as I was putting my stuff in the car I stopped and said “Good Morning Jesus” and that really had a WOW! factor on my attitude starting out. You should try it.

A few hours later I am having to wait in a waiting room (duh! Why is it called a waiting room?) and I opened up and read a daily devotional by David Wilkerson. If you don’t know who David Wilkerson is he is an evangelist who, in 1958, who was called to go and minister on the drug ridden streets of New York City. He is even known for ministering to a drug addict who had no shoes so David sat down, took his off, and gave them to the addict. Okay, I have gotten off track for this post.

His devotion for today talks about prayer and references Jeremiah 10:21 and Wilkerson talks about having a prayer closet (hint: Who’s hiding in your closet?) and a prayer habit. Without prayer we have no leadership and guidance. Jeremiah 10:12: “For the shepherds have become stupid and have not sought the LORD; therefore they have not prospered.” Now he is talking about churches and pastors but that is not what spoke to me today. What is my prayer life like, how does prayer work and most important how do I grab hold of prayer and of God?

Jeremiah is saying that without the counsel and input from God there is failure, there is no prosperity. Prosperity in this context, to me, is doing things right, completing what we set out to do. This, the prophet says, requires communication with God.

So, when I pray, how does it work, what does it sound like? At times the voice of God, the meaning of what is occurring is clear. But a lot of times it seems like me talking and no one responding. There is a major country hit written by Willie Nelson called “Hello Walls.” “Hello walls, how’d things go for you today?” Sounds like me praying. So how do we pray, what does it mean, why do we talk to walls? Here is some of my two cents worth about praying by faith. Faith says I believe in something greater, someone greater. I pray out of obedience, because I told people I would pray for them. I pray because I know I don’t have the answers. I pray because I want God and I want to hear Him and have Him in my life. Lord, lead me, guide me, help me keep from making a fool of myself (okay, too big of a fool of myself). I am weak but He is strong. Jesus keep me from all wrong; yes, just a closer walk with Thee. That is my heart’s desire.

So how does prayer look? I think it is God speaking, maybe audibly, maybe like a crossword puzzle of thoughts and ideas adding up to complete the word, His Word. Maybe it is coming to accept truth you already know but just don’t like (cut out unhealthy food or spending). Also, and I think this is a key to prayer, it is stopping. Yes, just stop. Consider what the things are you are praying about, really sort, meditate, dwell on, ponder, soak in, relish every aspect of it. And do this in the light of the Holy Spirit. 1 Corinthians 2:16: “For who has known the mind of the Lord, that he should instruct Him? But we have the mind of Christ.”

Prayer is us communicating with God and God communicating with us. I Corinthians 2:16 just spoke loud and clear. You and I have the mind of Christ. I want to hear what God has to say through you and I have Christ’s mind to know what God would have. So I offer to you the opportunity to stop and pray, get quiet and be who you, and I, are in Christ.

Leave a Reply

