Scenario

I have recently shared about faith and the very welcome of a dream come in the night. Heb 11:1 says: <em>Now faith is the assurance of things hoped for, the conviction of things not seen. By faith we believe in God, by faith we proclaim with our very lives that we believe in something more and we walk daily based on faith. And faith, our faith is not blind. It is based in part on what we know to be true and it is based in part on history. Verses 2 and 3 of Heb 11 further links us to history: For by it the men of old gained approval. By faith we understand that the worlds were prepared by the word of God, so that what is seen was not made out of things which are visible.NASB

Faith is such a grand word with such grand meaning. Take time to read the remainder of Hebrews, chapter 11. It is a record of faith and the people who lived and died by it, people just like you and me. Yes, we are kin with the saints and the great. That is our heritage and our calling. I think it would be neat to part the seas like Moses or strike a rock and have fresh water flow. Really nice tricks but what if I am asked to sacrifice my first born son? That word means take a knife and kill him. Maybe not so quick to obey or think that this is a really good idea. But will I obey, will I walk in what my faith tells me?

My title for this post is scenario, a word that conjures up “what if’s.” It is a favorite with the military, governments, big business, and many others. They plan for what if’s. I deal with what if’s that run through my head, and none of them are good. Even if I am thinking of a good what if that is not good because it is not dwelling and trusting in that which I know. And that which I know beyond a doubt I know by faith, faith in the One who has laid hold on my life. I suppose the government should plan for different scenarios, flood fire, enemies, oh I probably should include politics in general.

I encourage you one and all. If you are a child of the King, King Jesus, rest and trust in Him, by faith. I skipped ahead and read the end of the story. We win and live happily ever after.

Leave a Reply

