Transcendent Faith

Before I had a dream I began talking about faith and what it means. I have never tried to follow the crowd and that is okay with me. Today’s comments may step on toes but that is life. Please consider what I say and take it to God in prayer.

Now what I want to say is that a lot of things are much deeper and much greater in breadth than they appear. To me faith falls into that description. When I looked faith up in a systematic theology textbook it referred it to salvation. To me faith is so much more.

To me the Christian life is about God and Jesus. That is the beginning and end of it all. The person of the Godhead, the Father, the Son and the Holy Ghost (or Holy Spirit as you choose). All life exists in them, through them, and because of them. That is the story, nothing more or less. That means that faith is founded in them, rooted in them, and all focus should be on them.

Remember Hebrews 11:1, “Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen?” Change faith to God, “God is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen.” While faith is considered a noun it also acts a whole lot like a verb. Remember we talked about it meaning to bind, binding like a rope that draws and binds.

When a cowboy ropes a calf he attaches the rope to the calf and then draws it to himself until the calf is captured and held. With God and us (you and me) it is God, the Father, son and Holy Ghost casting His rope to capture us, to draw us to Himself and capture, making us His. It is also us casting our rope to capture God and bind ourselves to Him never to let go of Him. That is a statement of faith. I belong to Jesus and I will never let go of Him, nor will He ever let go of me.

That is transcendent faith, it is saying so much more about what faith is and means. It transcends what people think about faith. It is not blind belief, it is not blind trust, it is a relationship with another person who happens to be God himself. Now that changes the perspective and takes it to a much higher level, the level of reality and truth.

Speaking of reality and truth I believe that there is such a thing as absolute truth. Science may think it comes close, math may think it is absolute but I submit that the only absolute truth is God and everything else falls so short when compared. I don’t know how the universe began, or when. Yes it is wonderful to consider and study, to research and seek the “how” of everything. But, you have to begin and end with God.

But I digress; let’s get back to talking about faith. Faith is about a relationship with a person who, in the context of Christian faith happens to be God. It should be, and God wants it to be, alive, active, real, so much more than many Christians even have a clue that it should be.

Final word, love God, live God, and breathe God. Capture God by faith and be bound to Him never to let go, never to doubt that that bond is anything but permanent and unbreakable. That is the bond of love, God’s love for you.

Leave a Reply

