No title or “What, me worry?” – Part III

It has been a very interesting week, and not that all together good week. I have been very rushed, and worried about nothing, and have allowed myself to get behind the 8 ball, so to speak. Behind the 8 ball is an old term meaning you are running around like a chicken with its head cut off and you can’t get ahead to save your life. I am writing this from Houston where I am at my late wife’s cousin’s house. They have a kiln and were going to fire some pieces I had made. I .ill talk about that more on my art of earth and light blog.

When I was almost two hours late leaving I had the song “Jesus on the mainline, tell him what you want” running through my head for no reason. It is a nice song but not one of my favorites, but it was playing like a broken record in my head. I realized I needed to stop and talk with Jesus so I did. What was so refreshing was I knew what I wanted to ask Him for. “Jesus I want to be at peace with myself and with You.” So what does this peace look like, what should it look like, how should we live at peace with Jesus?

Before I discuss that I have to say that as I have been a Christian for 40 years now I know the answer! And if you know Jesus as your Lord and Savior you know it as well. Make sure that your character is free from the love of money, being content with what you have; for He Himself has said, “I WILL NEVER DESERT YOU, NOR WILL I EVER FORSAKE YOU,” Hebrews 13:5, or “ If we have food and covering, with these we shall be content.” I Peter 6:8. Notice how Jesus Himself says “I will never desert you, nor will I ever forsake you.” I really appreciate where Jesus makes His point crystal clear in this passage, …nor will I ever forsake you. He is always with me (me means you and me) and He will NEVER forsake me (that means me and you). Never is a pretty permanent word wouldn’t you say.

This is saying that the problem rests not in circumstances or other things, the problem rests with me (again, that means me and you). So why am I not content like Paul says I should be? Because I am trusting in sight, not walking by faith. Remember too, again, “I will never desert you, nor will I ever forsake you.”

The dilemma arises now that I prayed and asked Jesus for peace, with myself and with Him. Here we have a done deal, I asked for something within His will (perfect and permissive). Now, how do I appropriate it and walk in it? One step at a time, one day at a time. Clinging, resting, trusting, walking, add adjectives out the wazoo, it is trusting that He is Lord, His word is true, He is God. I do not need to know or even understand the mechanics of it. What I need to do is believe. This is the same belief I had to have when I asked Jesus into my life back in 1971, simple belief and faith, “Jesus, come into my life.” “I receive You as Lord and Savior.” That powerful, yet elegantly simple prayer transformed my life so many years ago. Radically, totally, completely, yet so very honestly. Have you prayed that and received Jesus into your life? First, and most importantly, if you have not I invite you to talk with God, one on one, to ask Him to make Himself real to you, where you are, who you are. Then you will be confronted with the truth and can make an honest decision.

Once we make that decision, then we enter into the promises of Hebrews and I Peter that I quoted above. Content in all things. I pray that I walk in this contentment and that you walk in it as well. Peace I speak to all who read these words and embrace them. The peace of the Lord Jesus Christ.

Final comment and apology. I am new to blogging and although I can type directly into WordPress I have been writing the blogs in Microsoft Word because it is a larger, clearer type for me. The problem is that the pretty formatting does not transfer over (the Italics, the Bold, the underline, etc.). So the blog, for now, lacks all this nice emphasis where emphasis is needed. My apologies.

Leave a Reply

